Sunday Shuffle 3/11/12 – Cover Songs Special

So I did it again, been about a month since last I posted. Been pretty busy at work and I also took a weekend to head down to my parents’ place in Maryland. The other thing that’s been keeping me pretty busy s my attempt to begin a career in voiceover work. Will probably make a post about the voiceover thing sometime soon, but for now let’s get to business…

Cover Songs Special

So, after being away for a couple weeks, and before that a few weeks of the same, I decided to switch thing up. The other night while I had my iPod on shuffle, I heard a really awesome cover song, and it made me start thinking about all the great cover songs out there, so of which are even better than the originals. So, this week I decided to fill the post with all of my favorite cover songs, that I feel are at least as strong as the originals (though to be fair, I wasn’t completely familiar with ALL of the originals). To avoid wasting time debating which of these are better than others, I’ve decided just to post in order of band name, adding some comments for each one.

9mm Parabellum Bullet – Motorbreath (Metallica)

Very rare, almost unheard of in fact, that a cover of Metallica should sound even closely as good as the original. This might be blasphemy, but personally I think I enjoy it quite a bit more than the original Metallica track. I do happen to be a big 9mm Parabellum Bullet fan though, and aside from a few tracks, never been the biggest fan of Hetfield’s vocals.

Alkaline Trio – Wait for the Blackout (The Damned)

Just a quick comment on this one, as I have to admit, I had never heard of The Damned before I heard this track. That said, having gone back and listened to the original, I would have to say that Alkaline Trio definitely improved upon it.

BBQ Chickens – Sesame Street Theme

Second song in the linked video (first song is actually a bonus cover of Sham 69’s If the Kids Are United). This is just a crazy Japanese punk cover of the Sesame Street theme song, nuff said…

Bush – Wild Horses (The Rolling Stones)

Let me begin by explaining, I was an obsessive Bush fan back in high school, still enjoy them a bit now, but I couldn’t enough of them back then. Heard this cover and REALLY enjoyed it, but at the time had no idea it was a Rolling Stones track. Considering the fact that I am generally not at all a Rolling Stones fan, that was a bit of a surprise.

Bush – The One I Love (REM)

Now this one has some real meaning to me. I was at Woodstock (in the video above), up in like the 5th row, having one of the best experiences of my life and this cover just blew my mind. Still think it’s really well done.

Deftones – To Have and To Hold (Depeche Mode)

Deftones and Depeche Mode, how could you go wrong? Despite being a fairly big Depeche Mode fan, I had never heard the original version of this song. Having heard it now, the original is a pretty good track, but this cover is an amazing track.

Deftones – Chaffeur (Duran Duran)

Here’s another 80s band covered by the Deftones, and another deep cut from a very famous band. Had never heard the original version of this either, have now and it’s really not that great, but this Deftones version definitely is.

Dia Frampton – Heartless (Kanye West)

OK, yeah, this is a track from last year’s season of The Voice, but this track is pretty amazing. Really cool, original take on a Kanye track and Dia’s haunting vocals just elevate this track to make it that much better.

dustbox – I Remember You (Skid Row)

Really sweet Japanese pop-punk cover of the Skid Row classic. Helps that the original is such a sweet track, but believe it or not, I think the energy they put into this cover really makes the song shine.

Emilie Simon – Come As You Are (Nirvana)

This is the song that inspired me do this covers post. Everyone NEEDS to hear this one. Amazing Nirvana cover from French pop powerhouse Emilie Simon. Covering a band as classic and important to music as Nirvana is always a risk, but wisely she changes things up quite a bit to make it her own rather try to mimic the original. And wow, does it ever work.

Emilie Simon – I Wanna Be Your Dog (The Stooges)

Here’s another out there selection of a very well known genre song by Emilie Simon. And once again, DAMN, really does some awesome work with this one as well. Picks up a bit midway if it’s too slow for you in the beginning.

Faith No More – War Pigs (Black Sabbath)

Sorry for the weird video… Yet another risky choice, covering such an iconic song from such an iconic band, but they pull it off. I’ve always been a big fan of Mike Patton’s voice and I think it’s perfectly suited to this song. This is my absolutely favorite Black Sabbath song and I think I feel comfortable saying that this is just as good as the original. The one negative though is that is very little different from the Black Sabbath version, just a straight forward cover here.

Fishbone – Date Rape (Sublime)

Before I offend anyone at all, let me start by saying I love Sublime and this is a great Sublime track. Now that said, after this version, I don’t know if I’d ever listen to the Sublime version again. The bigger, funkier band of Fishbone really brings a lot to this song, and on top of that Angelo Moore’s energy and vocal stylings just turns this into gold.

immi – Lovesong (The Cure)

WOW, just wow… My favorite Cure song got even better, what can I say? immi nails it here with a really nicely produced electropop cover of an amazing track. Can listen to this over and over and never tire of it.

Love and Hates – Manah Manah (Piero Umiliani)

Awesome high energy Japanese pop cover of everyone’s favorite Muppet Show song!

The Lowbrows – Papa’s Got a Brand New Pigbag (Pigbag)

Here’s another one that I was completely unaware that it was a cover. Originally a sort of ska/funk dancey fun track from 80s British post-punk band Pigbag, The Lowbrows have tweaked just the slightest and turned it into a sick house track that would feel comfortable in any club.

Nature Living – You Gotta Be (Des’Ree)

What a crazy song to choose to cover, especially when you are a Japanese emo/screamo band… But it works, really, and not only does it work, it sounds like a good Nature Living song that could fit right in with their own stuff. This comes from a CD full of covers and as such, I’ll share a couple more.

Nature Living – Material Girl (Madonna)

Yup, that’s right, Madonna. They went there. And once again, it works, and they’ve really made it their own. Kinda odd that a guy would be a material girl, but otherwise it’s a good track.

Nature Living – Canon (Johann Pachelbel)

Couldn’t find a link or video for this one, but you can check out a clip at the link above. Not really the same as the other covers on this list, but I think this is a REALLY cool version of Pachelbel’s Canon in a slightly updated way.

Streetlight Manifesto – Such Great Heights (The Postal Service)

This is a REALLY cool one. I’m sure you’ve heard electronic covers of songs normally played by a band, but how about a band covering an electronic song. The horns playing the opening electronic bit is really cool and cleverly done. I still prefer the original song, but this one is a ton of fun.

System of a Down – Metro (Berlin)

Sweet kind of dark cabaret styled cover of 80s electropop song Metro by System of a Down. Haven’t heard this in ages, but when I started thinking of stuff to put on this list, it was one of the first things that popped into my head. Alkaline Trio also does a pretty good cover of this as well.

Verus the Night – The Trooper (Iron Maiden)

No direct link here, but you can check the song out on their MySpace page linked above. Never been a huge Iron Maiden fan, so any true fans out there might think this is horrible, but this Japanese metalcore cover of The Trooper definitely works for me.

Yum!Yum!ORANGE – La Bamba (Richie Valens)

So who’d ever expect a Japanese pop ska cover of a Mexican folk song? Certainly not me, but damn, it actually works, and it’s a lot of fun!

Yum!Yum!ORANGE – Don’t Worry, Be Happy (Bobby McFerrin)

Finishing things off, one more ska cover from Yum!Yum!ORANGE, this time it’s a cover of everyone’s favorite Don’t Worry, Be Happy. Not much else to say, but it’s nice that I could end things with such an upbeat fun song.

So that’s it for this week, hope you enjoyed some of the stuff on here, and maybe found some new bands or at least songs to add to your own iPod. Leave comment and any other great cover suggestions below. Thanks!

This entry was posted in American Music, 音楽 (Japanese music), Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

