Unboxing the Past – Box 5

Been a while since I’ve posted. haven’t had much to write about recently.  Should be a couple posts this week.  Anyway, I’m back today with another box full of stuff.  Upon first look, it looks a bit boring this time, but there are a couple interesting things in there.

Let’s start off with the more interesting stuff.

First up, a couple of art books by Bill Barker, Schwa and Counter Schwa.  These are some pretty cool books I was really into back in junior high and high school.  It’s all black and white artwork using aliens to make statements about religion, media, society, and more.  Here are the two books and a few samples from each.  Click on any samples for a bigger version.

 

 

 

 

The other cool thing I found in this box was a bunch of old comic books from when I was a kid.  Check out this flickr album or click on the name of a comic to see the cover.

Amazing Spider-man 374 – got this in a bundle of comics from BJ’s.  Made me buy the next comic to finish the story.

Amazing Spider-man 375 – fun comic with a nice gold foil cover where Venom agrees to leave Spider-man alone

Darkhawk Annual 1 – Assault on Armor City pt. 1 – also in the bundle from BJ’s.  Good story, led me to buy the next two parts.

Avengers West Coast Annual 7 – Assault on Armor City pt. 2

Iron Man Annual 13 – Assault on Armor City pt. 3

Cyblade Shi 1

Gambit and the X-ternals 1 – from Age of Apocalypse

Gen 13/The Maxx 1

Ghost Rider 2099

Marvel vs. DC 3 – why I only have the third one, I have no idea.  Great miniseries though.  I remember checking in at the local newsstand constantly to find the next issue.

Ragmop 1, 2, 3, 4 – signed by creator Rob Walton.  I bought these at a comic convention (maybe Wizard World) in Philly.

Sabretooth – In the Red Zone – signed by inker Mark McKenna.  Also bought at the Philly comic con.

Slacker Comics 1 – signed by creator Doug Slack.  Also from the Philly comic con.

Spawn/WildC.A.T.S. 1

Template 1 – bought at the Philly comic con.

Tug and Buster 1 – bought at the Philly comic con.

Wolverine Annual ’95

Wolverine/Gambit Victims 1, 2, 3, 4 – this was another great series that I constantly checked in for new issues of at my local newsstand.

X-Man 1 – from Age of Apocalypse

X-Men 2099 1

X-Men 2099 Special

X-Men Chronicles – from Age of Apocalypse

X-Men vol. 2 #1

 

And now the rest of the boring stuff,

Texas Instruments TI-86 Guidebook – why I still have the manual and not the calculator is beyond me.

German in Review – textbook from my college German class

Infrared Spectroscopy – borrowed this book from my advisor in college when I was working on a research project, and apparently never gave it back.  Woops.

Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds – another book I borrowed permanently from my advisor

A year subscription worth of Analytical Chemistry – got this subscription with a scholarship for winning an analytical chemistry award in college.  All issues still in original plastic wrap.  Guess I wasn’t really interested, heh.

A magazine about chromatography from the ACS

A directory of scientific laboratories

Journal of Proteome Research Vol. 1 No. 1

A folder of stuff from my scientific writing class

A folder of stuff from my Japanese civilization class – including some reports on anime and bushido.

A folder of stuff from my Intro to Polymers class – also found an old dean’s list certificate in this folder.

Two overstuffed folders of stuff from a college Japanese class

A “Handy Katakana Workbook”

A folder of stuff from my New German Cinema class – a fun class where we watched loads of modern German movies, where I discovered things like The Tin Drum and Tom Tykwer’s work (Run Lola Run, The Princess and the Warrior).  I was originally taking this class in German, doing all of my assignments in German, but quickly switched to English as I started studying Japanese and gave up on my German.

A folder of stuff from my college linguistics course – probably my favorite class I took in school.

A handbook for new members of Phi Beta Kappa

This entry was posted in Books, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

