Unboxing the Past – Box 1

After college, before I went to Japan I boxed up a bunch of my stuff to keep in storage until I got back.  Then, several years later, my dad boxed up a bunch of other stuff in order to renovate a room in our house.  Last week while helping my dad move all of his stuff to a new storage unit, I (re)discovered about 7 seven boxes worth of my stuff.  I have very little recollection about what is in these boxes and I thought it could be fun to blog while I go through them.  A bit of warning before you start reading, depending on what I find, this might just turn into a list of items, but if I find anything of note, I’ll add some pictures and stories to make it more interesting.  So, here we go with the first box.

Upon first glance it looks like this box is mostly, if not all, books.  It’s always nice to rediscover books you have, but it might mean this post is a bit boring…

Geisha by Liza Dalby – this book is an autobiographical account of Liza Dalby, the only non-Japanese to have ever trained as a geisha.  It’s a pretty interesting read that shows a detailed look at the life of a geisha.  This book was actually bought as reading for a Japanese culture class I took in college.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – purchased for an English writing class on “monsters” and outcasts in literature.

Taran Wanderer by Lloyd Alexander – book four in the Chronicles of Prydain series

The Gunslinger by Stephen King – book one of The Dark Tower series

Being a Green Mother by Piers Anthony – book five in the Incarnations of Immortality series, a great series following the physical manifestations of concepts like time, death, war, and nature.

Roc and a Hard Place by Piers Anthony – book nineteen in the Xanth series, a comedic fantasy series with heavy use of puns

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka – also bought for the English class on “monsters” and outsiders

Faun and Games by Piers Anthony – book twenty one in the Xanth series

The Grey King by Susan Cooper – book four in The Dark is Rising series

The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper – book two in The Dark is Rising series

Crayon Shinchan vol. 1 – fun little manga about a handful of a five year old boy

Shakespeare without the Boring Bits by Humphrey Carpenter – picked this up when I visited Shakespeare’s house in the summer of my Sophomore year in high school.  It’s a retelling of pieces of some Shakespearean plays done in contemporary style from different points of view.

The Stranger by Albert Camus – bought for an English writing class on “The Absurd” in college that I ended up dropping.  Don’t think I ever read it…

Battle Royale vol. 1 and 2 – manga adaptation of the novel Battle Royale by Koushun Takami.

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead by Tom Stoppard – play retelling the events of Hamlet through the eyes of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern.  This was also bought for my class on “The Absurd” although unlike The Stranger, I did read this (several times actually) and really enjoyed it.

The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams – a collection of the entire Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series (not including the final story not written by Douglas Adams)

Battle Angel Alita by Yukito Kishiro – great manga set in a post-apocalyptic future following a cyborg bounty hunter with no memory of her past.

Ashen Victor by Yukito Kishiro – short manga set in the world of Battle Angel Alita about the violent sport motorball.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – one of my absolute favorite books of all time.  First read it in high school and have read it many times since.

Xone of Contention by Piers Anthony – book twenty three of the Xanth series

The Drawing of the Three by Stephen King – book two of The Dark Tower series

The Terminal Man by Michael Crichton – really cool thriller about the science and workings of the brain and homicidal tendencies

The Color of Her Panties by Piers Anthony – book fifteen of the Xanth series

Dune by Frank Herbert – first book in the original Dune series

Insomnia by Stephen King – great Stephen King thriller (not horror) with some direct ties to the Dark Tower universe.

The Stand – complete and uncut edition by Stephen King – epic story of good versus evil centered around the outbreak of a new virus.

Dune – House Atreides by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson – first book in the Prelude to Dune prequel series

For Love of Evil by Piers Anthony – book six in the Incarnations of Immortality series

With a Tangled Skein by Piers Anthony – book three in the Incarnations of Immortality series

The Brand New Month Python Papperbok – great comedy book/comic made by everyone’s favorite sketch comedy group

And now for the rest of the box:

– A journal from a class I took called Pass the Peas that was a study on the origins of hip-hop culture and music.  In the class we were given music assignments to listen to and critique in the journal and the teacher would write back to us as well about our thoughts and opinions.

– My notebook and handouts from Pass the Peas, including things like articles on graffiti, drugs, the Nation of Islam among other things.  We also watched and did a critique of La Haine.  There seems to be a bunch of Japanese in the margins.  I must have been doodling to remember any new Japanese I learned whenever I was bored in class.

– A folder containing printouts, reports, and other various papers for my cognitive psych class.

– Japanese: The Written Language Part 1 – a book we used in my first year of Japanese class to learn kanji.

– A folder containing handouts, document analysis assignments and a test from my History of Japanese Industrialization class.

– A binder full of kanji practice worksheets.

– A binder full of textbook translations, notes, worksheets, homework, quizzes and tests from Intermediate Japanese 2.

– Last thing and most interesting thing in the box (though I’m not sure why it was kept). n envelope from Dreamworks Records that at one point had a free ticket to a Papa Roach / Alien Ant Farm concert on April 11th (though I’m not sure what year).  I spent a bunch of time working for street teams in high school and the beginning of college doing low level marketing for bands, one of which was Papa Roach.

So, that’s all for box one.  Nothing all that special in this one.  Of course, as I said, it’s always nice to (re)find books, and hopefully some of you might find something new to read from this list.  Kinda cool for me to see some of the stuff I did in college, especially the Pass the Peas course, and it was a bit of a fun surprise to find that envelope at the bottom of the box even if it was for two bands that I no longer listen to.

Anyway, I’ll keep doing these about one a week and hopefully I’ll find something cool next time.

This entry was posted in Books, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

